Munro Bagging

James has been really getting into his walking recently and given the choice he’ll usually pick a day in the hills as his activity of choice. He has been steadily knocking off a few munro’s (though not quick enough for his liking!). Whilst getting out and doing the actual walking is pretty easy given he’s so keen, it’s the logistics of it all that seem to be the difficult part for us.

Munro Bagging

Now part of the problem of getting away from it all and enjoying time in the wild, is well it’s kind of out of the way. I know that’s the beauty of it, but unless you’re lucky enough to have it on your doorstep just nipping out in a couple of spare hours, isn’t really possible for most.

Now I’m not complaining, we do live in a beautiful part of the world and we are lucky enough to have a few munro’s which are accessible for the day trips. Our problem is with our eager beaver walker, we’ve already ticked off all our local ones. Sophie isn’t quite ready to join in with these adventures, so we need to squeeze in as much as we can when Dom’s off work without her feeling like she’s missing out. They’ve managed to fit in a few day trips here and there and have had great fun scaling Ben Lomond, Ben Ledi and Ben Chonzie.

When they finally had a full weekend spare they made sure to make the most of it and headed to the Ben Lawers range. James was pretty impressed at the prospect of ticking off 7 in a oner! The Lawers range is still a reasonable drive for us, so by the time they got packed up and headed and at the start, a good part of the day had already gone. But with a steady pace they still managed to tick off two Munros: Meall Corranaich and Meall a'Choire Leith.

They found a good camping spot near the summit so they didn’t have to lose much of the height they had gained. They had glorious weather on Sunday and managed to tick off a further five summits: Beinn Ghlas, Ben Lawers, An Stuc, Meall Greigh, Meall Garbh, making it they’re most successful trip to date.

Here’s hoping this warm weather continues and they get a good few good weekends to tick a few more off – they need to get a move on if James is going to get them all ticked off before he starts high school like he’s hoping.

I can see a few more logistical nightmares along the way as they have to head further and further afield.

Related Articles

About the Author

Helena Carey

Helena Carey

About Me & Mine

James' family is James' (aged 7 months), daddy - Dominic, mummy - Helena and Jarvis the dog. We currently live in Norwich but head to the mountains of Snowdonia and the Lake District as often as we can.

Before James was born we were a very active family doing lots of canoeing, hill walking, camping and snowboarding. Since having James we are determined that having a family and enjoying the outdoors are both possible. We are keen to make sure James can not only join in with our adventures, but that he will be happy and comfortable at the same time.

Favourite place in the world:

It's a tough choice but Arisaig on the West coast of Scotland gets our vote. With the whitest sand and bluest sea we've seen, you have to keep reminding yourself you're in Scotland rather than a tropical paradise. The views out towards the Small Isles and the Cuillins on Skye are stunning; it really is a magical place. With sea kayaks it's easy to find your own private beach - well apart from the odd otter (real ones rather than Spotty ones) and seal to share it with. It's definitely somewhere we plan to take James to as soon as possible.

Favourite things to do outdoors:

We are keen canoeists and love to get out on the water as much as possible - whitewater, flat water touring or sea kayaking; we're not fussed as long as it's wet. We are both qualified instructors and enjoy passing on our love of paddle sports to others at our local canoe club. We have already has our own little bow paddler in the making, James, out in the canoe and are looking forward to many more trips.

We also do a lot of walking. We get out everyday to visit our local woods and parks to walk our coker spaniel, Jarvis. When we get the chance though, we prefer something a bit more challenging and regularly visit the mountains of Snowdonia and the Lake District. James' dad Dom, is a qualified mountain leader and is keen to pass on these skils as soon as possible.

Comments (3)

  • Jennie Abell

    Jennie Abell

    05 June 2018 at 20:06 | #

    Very impressed he will have climbed them all before he is 20 if not before!

    reply

  • Nancy Chambers

    Nancy Chambers

    06 June 2018 at 15:07 | #

    Wow, that is a great goal! Super impressed that you have a keen hillwalker, ours love coming downhill, but are still not quite so keen on the uphill sections.

    reply

  • Deborah Patterson

    Deborah Patterson

    13 June 2018 at 11:09 | #

    Gosh that's some impressive walking. It's so great when the kids are inspired by the outdoors and being active. Long may that last...and good luck with him bagging his last few Munros!

    reply

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.
Disclaimer
The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by Little Trekkers and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.